Exploring The Rich History Of Assamese Literature

Exploring the Rich History of Assamese Literature

The history of Assamese literature, or asomiya sahityar buranji, is a long and vibrant one. The beginnings of the language can be traced back to ancient Sanskrit works, such as the Kalika Purana, that were written in the early 8th century AD. In the centuries that followed, Assamese literature flourished, with many authors writing in the language.

Early Assamese Literature

The earliest works in Assamese were written in the 12th century. The first known author was Hema Saraswati, who wrote a book of poetry called Kirtan Ghosa. Other notable works from this period include the Charyapadas, a collection of Buddhist mystical verses, and the works of Madhav Kandali, who wrote the Saptakanda Ramayana, a version of the Hindu epic poem.

The 15th century saw the emergence of Assamese poetry, with authors such as Madhavdeva and Sankardeva writing in the language. Madhavdeva's works include the Padavali, a collection of poems, and his dramas, such as the Rukmini Haran. Sankardeva wrote the Ankiya Naat, a religious play, and the Bhakti Ratnavali, a book of devotional poems.

The 17th and 18th Centuries

The 17th and 18th centuries saw the rise of several important Assamese authors. In the 17th century, Sankaradeva's disciple Madhavdeva wrote the Kirtana Ghosa, a book of religious poems. He also wrote the Satya Pothi, a book of religious plays. The 18th century saw the emergence of a more secular style of literature, with authors such as Kaliram Medhi writing plays and poems about everyday life.

In the 19th century, Assamese literature flourished, with writers such as Lakshminath Bezbaruah and Hemchandra Barua writing novels, plays, and poems. Bezbaruah is especially notable for his novel Burhi Aair Sadhu (The Old Lady and the Sage), which is seen as a classic of Assamese literature.

20th Century Assamese Literature

The 20th century saw a surge in Assamese literature, with authors such as Bishnu Prasad Rabha and Hiren Bhattacharya writing novels and plays. Rabha's works include the novel Dhusar Pandulipi (The Grey Manuscript) and the play Anirban (The Immortal). Bhattacharya's works include the novel Aparupa (The Unfathomable) and the play Chikamati (The Chikamati Affair).

Other notable authors from this period include Indira Goswami, who wrote the novel Mamore Dhara Tarowal (The Broken Nest) and the play Mukti (Freedom), and Indira Raisom Goswami, who wrote the novel Ashirbad (The Blessing

Dated : 02-Feb-2023

Category : Education

Tags : History

Leave Your Comment